Registered Charity No. 278892


For additional information please email or write to:


The Anglo-Hellenic League

The Hellenic Centre

16-18 Paddington Street

London W1U 5AS


Follow us on Twitter:  @AngHellenLeague


Follow us on Facebook:

The Anglo-Hellenic League

Note: Although the Anglo-Hellenic League is a member society of the Hellenic Centre, and has a post-box at the Hellenic Centre, it is not affiliated with the Hellenic Community Trust or the Hellenic Centre in any other way. If you would like to contact the Hellenic Centre, you will find information here. We regret that we are unable to forward messages to the Hellenic Centre. 

The Anglo-Hellenic League

Dedicated to promoting Anglo-Greek understanding and friendship, through charitable and cultural work. 


Monday 23 March 2020, 7.30pm

A Taste of Greek Wines

Hellenic Centre (Friends & Members Room), 16-18 Paddington Street, London W1U 5AS




The League invites its members and supporters to join us in a tasting of Greek wines. The tasting will be led by Lance Foyster MW. Lance is an experienced wine importer and a lifelong lover of Greece. He gained a degree in Classics at Oxford University before qualifying as a Master of Wine.  Alongside his wife Isabelle Clark, Lance is co-founder and co-owner of Clark Foyster Wines Ltd., a specialist importer based in West London. Clark Foyster Wines began in 2003 and made its first imports of Greek wines in 2013. Both Lance and Isabelle have spent much time in Greece exploring the country and its vineyards. The company works primarily with small family-run estates in Greece, Austria, France, Portugal, Georgia, Australia and New Zealand. The wines imported by the company are handcrafted, many on a small scale. The company’s clients include London’s famous restaurants and wine retailers.


Greek wine is in a fascinating state of rejuvenation. For several decades, many Greek producers created “me-too” wines, using international grape varieties to copy the classics of France and Italy, mostly for the domestic market. But in recent years, Greek wine-makers have rediscovered many of the traditional grape varieties which better reflect the country’s heritage: Agiorghitiko from the Peloponnese, Xinomavro from the north, and Assyrtiko from Santorini, to name but three. 


We’ll look at eight wines, all from indigenous varietals, covering red, dry white and sweet styles, and discuss the ‘work in progress’ that is making Greece such a dynamic and increasingly fashionable wine producing country.


This is a ticket-only event. The price of one ticket is £25 (donations above this price are welcome). Tickets are strictly limited in number and available to Members of the League on a ‘first come, first served basis’, with a maximum of two tickets per Member. If you are a member of the League, haven't received our mailing-shot about the event, and wish to attend, please contact us on

Cultural Programme for 2020 


We are pleased to announce our outline cultural programme for 2020. Please find further details here.

RUNCIMAN AWARD 2020 and 2021


The Council of the League has decided to hold the next Runciman Award in 2021, to coincide with the celebrations for the bicentenary of the start of the Greek War of Independence. There will be no award in 2020.


Our sponsorship arrangement with Elias Paraskevas Attorneys1933 has come to an amicable end. We are grateful to the company for its three-year support and commitment to the Runciman Award. We are now seeking a new sponsorship deal.


The Runciman Award has been operating for over 30 years. We are committed to its future and think the time is right to have a brief pause, to take stock of what the prize has achieved and to agree new ambitions for the years ahead, taking account of the wider purposes of the League. While much is to be decided, we expect that eligible books written in both 2019 and 2020 will be admissible for the prize in 2021.


We are open to the views of our members and supporters, and also to the ideas of authors, publishers and our judges. If you have views about the future shape of the Runciman Award, please send them to us in concise form by 31 December 2019 at our mail-box:


We shall make an announcement in the first half of 2020 about the relaunch of the Runciman Award.

Print Print | Sitemap
© The Anglo-Hellenic League (Registered Charity No. 278892)